Jump to contentJump to search

Studies Commission

Proactive quality management for teaching and studies is an important control instrument at Heinrich Heine University. Under the management of the Vice President for Quality in Studies and Teaching, Professor Dr Christoph J. Börner, the Heinrich Heine University Studies Commission is responsible for advising the Rectorate on all matters relating to teaching and studies. The Studies Commission also advises the Rectorate on decisions relating to the use of central Quality Improvement Funds pursuant to the law on improving the quality of teaching and studies at universities in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia (study quality law – Studiumsqualitätsgesetz) of 1 March 2011 and makes recommendations.

The Commission comprises four representatives from the group of professors, four representatives from the group of academic staff and nine representatives from the group of students. The Deans of Studies of the faculties, the Chair of the General Student’s Committee (AStA) and two representatives from the group of technical and administrative staff are also members of the Commission in an advisory capacity. The members of the Commission are elected by the Senate following proposal by the group representatives (Art 10 HHU Constitution (Grundordnung)).


Group of professors

Professor Dr Ulrich Decking, Professor Dr Hana Filip, Professor Dr Rüdiger Hahn, Professor Dr Laura Rose

Group of academic staff

Dr Stefan Beutner, Dr Susanne Brandt, Dr Susanne Wilhelm, N.N.

Group of students

Yade Bas, Elif Benli, Patrick Grohs, Lukas Moll, Lukas Moore, Gustav Schauer, Johanna Ulbrich, Viktor Herzog zu Sachsen, Lasse Zehler

Group of technical and administrative staff (advisory capacity)

Natalie Böddicker, Dr Doris Hildesheim

The Studies Commission meets four times a year, usually in April, June, October and December.

Applications for central Quality Improvement Funds must be submitted by 15 March for the first meeting, by 15 May for the second meeting, by 15 September for the third meeting and by 15 November for the fourth meeting. The submission deadline is also the cut-off date. If an application is received late, it will not be submitted to the Studies Commission until the next possible meeting.

Agenda items (e.g. the establishment of new study programmes) must be submitted together with all documents no later than three weeks before the next meeting of the Studies Commission.

The next Commission meetings are scheduled for 12 April and 14 June 2023.

Responsible for the content: