Jump to contentJump to search
der Senat sitzt zusammen

The Senate

The senate is the only central university body where all members of the university are represented, and where they can meet to discuss various aspects and problems concerning the university. The Senate forum contributes to making decision processes both more transparent and open, promotes trusting cooperation between groups and faculties, and also helps to create a common political will within the university.    

The senate’s tasks are defined by law and include participation in electing a President, commenting on the President’s annual report, passing and adapting university regulations, as well as making suggestions and comments regarding the draft version of the university development plan and the agreement on objectives, evaluation reports, the business plan, and concerning principles of the allocation of posts and resources to the departments, facilities and operating units of the university.

Any questions or suggestions relating to the senate and its work should be addressed to its members who are representatives of the various groups and faculties.

Group of professors

Prof. Dr. Bruno Bleckmann, Prof. Dr. Stefan Conrad, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Karl Decking, Prof. Dr. Simone Claudia Dietz, Prof. Dr. Guido Förster, Prof. Dr. Axel Görlitz, Prof. Dr. Henriette Herwig, Prof. Dr. Andrea Icks, Prof. Dr. Wolfram Trudo Knoefel (Vorsitz), Prof. Dr. William F. Martin, Prof. Dr. Ertan Mayatepek, Prof. Dr. Ingo Plag, Prof. Dr. Nicola Preuß, Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Simon, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Wesselborg

Group of academic staff

Dr. Michael Coenen, Dr. Michael Coenen, Dr. Christian Dumpitak, Dr. Ursula Kessen, Dr. Guido Johannes Reiß

Group of students

Arantzazu Bößem, Pascal Kalbhen, Robin Pütz, Fabian Schröer (Mitglied Präsidium), Gary Strauß

Group of technical and administrative staff

Veronika Mendorf, René Michalski, Dietlind Vobis (Mitglied Präsidium), Sandra Warren

Senate Working Group 'Sustainability'

In the future, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf would like to devote itself more effectively to the topic of 'sustainability'. For this purpose, it has, e.g., set up the "Senats-AG Nachhaltigkeit" (Senate Working Group on Sustainability).

Responsible for the content: